Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I Like It Like That Blackout All-Stars (Columbia, 1994)

I Like It Like That was originally a boogaloo hit for Pete Rodriguez in 1967. I Like It Like That was one of the most influential boogaloo songs of that era. It hit #25 on Billboard’s Hot 100. In 1994, a supergroup of Latin artists (Ray Barretto, Sheila E, Tito Puente, Tito Nieves, Paquito D’Rivera, Dave Valentin and Grover Washington Jr.) calling themselves the Blackout All-Stars covered I Like It Like That for the 1994 film soundtrack for I Like It Like That. This version also hit #25 on Billboard’s Hot 100. In 1996, Burger King used the
Blackout All-Star’s cover of I Like It Like That in their commercials. I Like It Like That gained traction again and it went back on the Hot 100 to again peak at #25.

