, , , , , , , , , ,

The Promise When in Rome (Virgin, 1987)

The Promise was British new wave band When in Rome’s debut single off their self-titled debut album. It was written by all three members of When in Rome: Clive Farrington, Andrew Mann and Michael Floreale. The Promise peaked at #58 in the UK, #11 on the Hot 100 and #1 on the American dance chart.

In 1990, the band broke up and Floreale moved to Dallas. In 2006, he reformed When in Rome and they regularly tour with other 80s groups. In 2009, Mann and Farrington also reformed the group under the name When in Rome UK.