, ,

Lord of the Flies (Faber and Faber, 1954)

Lord of the Flies was William Golding’s debut novel. Initially
it only sold a mere 3,000 copies in the U.S. until early 1960 when it became required reading in many American schools and colleges. Lord of
the Flies
has been adapted into three films — two in English
and one in Filipino and a four-part BBC dramatization in June 2013.

Lord of the Flies tell the story
of a group of British boys marooned on an uninhabited island and how they try to create their own society. Golding won a Nobel prize for Literature and was knighted in 1988. He died of heart failure in June 1993. His final novel, The Double Tongue was published posthumously in 1995.